Victims of crime in New Jersey may be able to get monetary assistance from the NJ Victims of Crime Compensation Office (VCCO). The VCCO can pay for lost wages, medical expenses, counseling expenses, nursing care, child care, and funeral expenses to the degree that they are not covered by insurance, Medicare or Medicaid, Workers Compensation, or Charity Care. In other words, other sources of compensation must be used before VCCO can help. The kinds of crime that VCCO generally covers include assault, homicide, kidnapping, sexual assault, child abuse, domestic violence and other violent crimes.
If you are a victim or claimant (person filing for a victim or dependents of the victim) you must show that:
- Crime is eligible under the statute
- You are a resident of the State of New Jersey or the crime occurred in this State
- You have compensable financial losses as a result of the criminal act
- The crime was reported to law enforcement within 9 months, and you submitted an application within 3 years from the date of the crime. Consideration will be taken if “good cause” exists for delayed filing.
- You cooperated with police and prosecutor’s office. However, eligibility is not dependent upon conviction or prosecution of the offender.
- Insurance and other payment sources such as restitution paid by the offender will not cover the bills submitted.
- You did not contribute to your injuries, provoke the incident, and were not responsible for or participated in the crime that caused your injuries.
- You do not have any outstanding VCCO assessments imposed for convictions.
Information and applications for VCCO assistance are available at the Morris County Victim-Witness Advocacy Office, at other county prosecutors’ offices, at municipal police departments, at local hospitals, and on the VCCO website.
Local VCCO Office: 50 Park Place, Newark, NJ, 07102, (970) 648-2107
VCCO Hotline: 1-800-242-0804